Autocross Team


Autocross Chair
Autocross Registrar
Autocross Consultant
Contact the Autocross team at

2012 NCR Autocross Series Championship



For 2012, a six event series is planned. The PCA Zone 1 Autocross will count as points event #5. The Zone 1 Autocross will be a two-day event at Moore Airfield, Devens, MA on August 25-26, 2012.

The following rules are used to determine the Class Champions for the Autocross Series:

  1. PCA members from any region are eligible for the Autocross Series Class Championships.
  2. Championships are only awarded for the Porsche classes (except Novice).
  3. Points for each event are awarded as follows:
    1st place 9 points
    2nd place 6 points
    3rd place 4 points
    4th place 3 points
    5th place 2 points
    6th/lower 1 point
    DNS/DNF/DSQ no points
  4. Novices are awarded one point in their base class.
  5. If an event is cut short due to weather or other unavoidable circumstances, it counts as a points event towards the series championship only if all run groups complete at least three runs.
  6. To qualify for a series class championship, a driver must win points in that class in at least four points events and at least one first place finish in that class.
  7. One event is dropped from the point total of each driver so a driver's best five finishes in the six event series count toward the championship. This means that if a driver misses two events, one of those events will be counted as a zero in the point total for that driver.
  8. Season point tie breakers:
    1. Most First Place Finishes.
    2. Margin of Victory for First Place Finishes (over second place finisher).
    3. Lowest total score obtained by adding each driver's score for all events that both entrants earned points at (events missed by either entrant or dropped from either entrant's point total are not included).
    4. The decision of the Autocross Chair is final.

The John MacDonald Most Improved Driver will also be awarded.

Awards will be presented at the NCR Annual Banquet.

Event Schedule




7:00 Gates Open Gates open at 7:00. Most people arrive between 7:15 and 7:45.
7:00 - 8:00 Checkin Everyone needs to check in. If you are preregistered, paid and confirmed, you will be checked in at the gate.
Please have your Driver's License and PCA or RMC Membership Card ready.
7:30 - 8:00 Registration Tent Open If you  owe money or have changes to your registration you must report to the registration tent. There is no on-site registration.
7:15 - 8:15 Tech Inspection All cars must pass a safety inspection and receive the official inspection sticker.
Remove all loose items from the car, change your tires, and display your car number prominently on both sides of your car.
You must also bring your helmet to be inspected (Snell 2010 or later approved).
8:15 Drivers' Meeting Mandatory. All entrants must attend.
8:30 Novice Meeting All Novice entrants must attend. Any other first year participants are also welcome. Includes a guided course walk. Meet at the Start Line near the timing tent.
8:30 - 9:15 Course Walking Everyone should walk the course, at least two to three times. If you're new to autocross find someone to walk the course with. Most people are more than willing to show a newcomer the way around the course and answer questions. No wheels allowed (no bikes, no scooters, no roller blades, heelies etc); walking the course means walking the course.
9:30 First Car Off One group will work while the other group runs (groups will be announced at the drivers' meeting). Then you switch over, usually after about 60-90 minutes, and 3-4 runs each. After everyone has run, that's the end of the morning session. The afternoon session is a repeat of the morning session, with everyone getting another 3-4 runs.
4:00 Awards We're usually done running by around 4:00 (but be prepared to stay until 5:00 if needed). Then we announce the results and present the awards.

Devens Information

Moore Army Airfield, located near the former Fort Devens, was built in 1940. During the Second World War it was also used by the Navy, and was referred to as Ayer Naval Auxiliary Air Station. The airfield originally consisted of three paved runways, taxiways and a ramp. Moore Army Airfield was declared excess when Fort Devens was downgraded to a training area, and was closed in the late 1990s. You can read additional information here .

It is on these now disused runways where the autocross events take place.

Note: Moore Army Airfield is just off of Route 2A which is separate from the former main Army base.

NOTE: We use the State Police entrance on Rt 2A (Fitchburg Road).


NCR Autocross Staff

Autocross Chair Joe Kraetsch
Assistant Chair Dan Quaroni
Administration Joe Kraetsch
Lisa Roche
Registrar Jeremy Mazzariello
Chief Instructor Dan Quaroni
Novice Captain Dan Quaroni
Sound Erick Aubin
Timing & Scoring Jeremy Mazzariello
Lisa Roche
Gareth Peters
Course Design Chris Darminio
Justin Chen
Rob MacAlpine
Waivers & Onsite Checkin
Lisa Burke
Erick Aubin
Grid Captain Read Fleming
Results Joe Kraetsch
Safety Rob MacAlpine
Classification &
Protest Committee
Joe Kraetsch
Jeremy Mazzariello
Dan Quaroni
Tech Inspection Georges Rouhart
Neil Halbert
Chris Lindquist
Bill Aubin